Netherlands / Amsterdam

Sunny Amsterdam Apartment With A View

View all photos View map

Our Home

My apartment is my sanctuary in my home town Amsterdam. It has great views over the nearby park, playground and petting zoo right outside the front door and is removed from the busy city-craze, but only fifteen minutes from the city centre.

More about this property

It is very bright and sunny here, because of the many windows and the height of the rooms: the ceilings are high, and you're actually on the fourth floor overlooking the neighbourhood. Furthermore, it has not one but two balconies! From the sunny balcony accompanying the living room you have a beautiful view of the Erasmuspark and the Wachterliedplantsoen, where the sun shines all afternoon and evening until it sets. On the balcony outside the bedroom and kitchen you have beautiful morning light, and you can enjoy a nice breakfast there.

I spend a lot of time at home, relaxing, having friends over, watching television, cooking, writing, working, etc. I moved in one and a half years ago, and it has been a great joy to me ever since. It is a two-and-a-half-room apartment, divided in an efficient manner and with a spacious layout. The apartment has been maintained with care, and was recently painted one and a half years ago. It has a renovated bathroom, a modern kitchen, and a comfortable, no-fuss interior.

Close

Our Neighbourhood

I am a lucky woman living in a green and quiet residential area in Amsterdam-West: Bos en Lommer. Right outside the apartment is the Erasmuspark, bordered by canals with small boats, and a large square with a playground and a petting zoo.

More about the neighbourhood

You can see the donkeys, horses, pigs, bunnies and goats walking around right underneath the living room window, but don't worry, they don't smell ;-). Children, couples, singles and families from this area come to this street and its surroundings to play and relax and walk their dogs.

The location is good as well, with the A10 highway only two minutes' drive away, and several tram and bus connections within walking distance which will bring you straight to the city centre or airport. Furthermore, the NS station Amsterdam-Sloterdijk is just five minutes away from you, from where trains can bring you to the beach in under thirty minutes. The city centre of Amsterdam is also easy to access by biking just fifteen minutes, or by using a public transport direct line.

My neighbourhood is up and coming, with new stores, cafés and three recreational parks close by. It is not touristy, with lots of families and couples living here, and several mixed nationalities. Grocery shopping (Albert Heijn, Dirk van de Broek or local Turkish shops with fresh fruit) is also within walking distance.

It might be good to mention that this home is from the 1930s, and the walls are very thin. Please keep in mind that this inevitably means you may hear some noise coming from the next-door neighbours, and that they will hear you too. However, the floors are insulated, and you have no upstairs neighbours, so this only goes for the neighbours to your left and right on the same floor. I have a good relationship with my neighbours, and therefore would like to emphasize that I don't want to disturb them with my guests.

Please also keep in mind that it's four flights of stairs to the apartment without a lift.

Street parking is available right outside, and you can buy a day pass for your car for around thirty euros for twenty-four hours, but I recommend getting about on a bike, as the locals do. ;-).

Close

About Us

I was born and raised in Amsterdam, in the Netherlands. I have just finished my BSc in neuropsychology and am looking for some working experience before starting my master's degree. I am semi-living together with my boyfriend Bas, a twenty-eight-year-old game designer and a longtime friend of mine, who lives just around the corner.

More about us

I enjoy hanging out with friends and family, and dancing my butt off in Zumba-classes or body combat. I also love movies of most genres and enjoy art deeply. Last but not least, I'm a big nature and animal lover.

When travelling, I love visiting the local art museums, tasting the local food, and doing some physical activities as well, such as hiking. Favourite places to visit so far are Europe and the USA, especially San Francisco, London, Berlin, Lisbon and the south of France.

As a guest in your home I am gentle, considerate, tidy and quiet. It is my dream to do an exchange for a longer period of time: a minimum of two months, up to six or even more, starting as soon as possible. My plans are open, as I am not tied by studies or work at this point. I would love to live in nature for a while, and exchange my city surroundings for some mountains, sea, trees and/or water.

Please only contact me if you'd be interested in spending a LONG period of time in my Amsterdam apartment and want to do an exchange simultaneously :-)!

Close

Reviews

No feedback for this property has been given

Details

Property Urban Apartment
Sleeps 2 (1 Bedrooms)
Bathrooms 1
Airport Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (23 km)
Conditions

When & Where

Dates not specified

Amenities

View full list

About Us

Travellers2
Languages English
OccupationNeuropsychology BSc / Game Designer
Member since28-01-2018
Exchange
Featured City
Rental
Location of the property i.e. distance from central position, attractions and shops; Considering the cleanliness and safety of the surrounding streets; Includes the settings and views.
Considering the décor and furnishings throughout the home
Balconies, terraces, garden. Considering the size, availability of garden furniture or the type of garden (parkland or flowerbed). Communal facilities not included here.
Reasonable consideration of the tranquillity. All possible noise disturbances will be mentioned in the description (motorway, main road, railway line and so on)
No smoking allowed
No pets allowed
No young children allowed
Only experienced exchangers
Kosher only
Experienced swapper
Based on feedback, Members earn Geenees for being good exchangers. One Geenee is very good. Three is excellent.
Our Neighbourhood
Long weekends considered
Open to Offers
Golf
Skiing
Beach
Print this page
Reference 128546