United Kingdom / Scotland / Edinburgh

House In Edinburgh

Our Home

Family-friendly house in south Edinburgh, with garden and parking (car available), a ten-minute bus ride from the city centre (4 km).

More about this property

Situated in a the much sought-after southside location of Newington in Edinburgh (we are surrounded by expensive B&Bs), our traditional, Victorian sandstone "double upper" is exactly what you would expect a family home to be (170m2).

The house is first and second floor of an 1890s semidetached house. It has 2 bathrooms, 3 bedrooms a playroom and kitchen. The bay windowed living room has 2 huge sofas, wide-screen TV, blueray and cable. The kitchen has a double hob (8 rings) and double oven and a table to seat eight.

There are two double bedrooms (one with a king size bed, and one with double sofa bed), and a large kids' bedroom with bunk beds.

We can also make a further single bed available if required.

The garden is private, south-facing with high beech hedge, with garden furniture and children's toys. 2 adult and two kids bikes (sized for age 9 and 6) can be made available (bike rack on car).

There is space on the drive to park two cars (our 2008 Nissan Qashqai has 7 seats and we can make child seats available also).

Edinburgh is known as 'the Venice of the North' due to its beautiful architecture and history. It has charm and many attractions for young and old, whatever the weather (and we have lots of that!).

This year we would like to swap our house for the second week in July- sunny Spain - near an airport with flights from Scotland is preferable. Not that we are asking for a lot!

Close

Our Neighbourhood

The house is one street removed from a moderately busy road (three bus routes run along it) in the Newington area of south Edinburgh.

A three-minute walk takes you to a main arterial road, running north into the city centre, with buses every minute or so.

Fares are £1.80 for any destination citywide.

More about the neighbourhood

A taxi from/ to the airport is around £20.

Close

About Us

I work as a child clinical psychologist, and my partner is an IT consultant.

We have a nine year-old boy and a six year old girl.

Reviews

No feedback for this property has been given

Details

Property Suburban House
Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms)
Bathrooms 1
Airport Edinburgh (10 km)
Conditions

When & Where

Dates not specified

Amenities

View full list

About Us

Travellers4 (2 Adults, 2 Children)
Languages English
OccupationClinical Psychologist / IT Consultant
Member since30-06-2010
Exchange
Featured City
Rental
Location of the property i.e. distance from central position, attractions and shops; Considering the cleanliness and safety of the surrounding streets; Includes the settings and views.
Considering the décor and furnishings throughout the home
Balconies, terraces, garden. Considering the size, availability of garden furniture or the type of garden (parkland or flowerbed). Communal facilities not included here.
Reasonable consideration of the tranquillity. All possible noise disturbances will be mentioned in the description (motorway, main road, railway line and so on)
No smoking allowed
No pets allowed
No young children allowed
Only experienced exchangers
Kosher only
Experienced swapper
Based on feedback, Members earn Geenees for being good exchangers. One Geenee is very good. Three is excellent.
Our Neighbourhood
Long weekends considered
Open to Offers
Golf
Skiing
Beach