Ireland / Bodyke

Large Wooden Eco Home

Our Home

Wake up to fantastic views, shower in one of two huge shower rooms, breakfast out on the large decking leading from the kitchen, then lounge on the sun loungers and listen to birdsong. Then take a walk or cycle around lovely lanes, take a picnic out onto your own private fields and check out our little stream. Visit the sheep, horses and chickens.

More about this property

Then perhaps a cycle ride on our bikes, or a kayak trip on the lake in our kayaks, which can be used on lake, river or sea. If you fancy a night in, get all the family involved in creating a lovely meal in our spacious, easy-to-work-in kitchen. Then maybe a jacuzzi bath, followed by a lie-down on the huge deep sofas, watch the sunset through the floor-to-ceiling windows, and maybe the lambs too, playing in the fields. If it is between November and March and below 10 degrees outside you may want to light the stove, but we hardly ever use it: even on frosty days, the house heats up with warmth of the sun! Cruise the Internet (broadband available). Bedtime: The adults retire to a king size, 2-metre-wide handmade wooden bed, and the children are already worn out from lots of fresh country air!

Where we want to go:
Anywhere beautiful! We love to be near the sea in the summer. We also would like to experience somewhere snowy, so contact us if you have somewhere in the mountains free next Christmas break, or in February 2009. May also be interested in short breaks in cities, e g Paris, Barcelona. We sometimes need a place to stay in Northumberland at Christmas, and South Devon in Summer. We are open to swaps any time in the school holidays, or occasional weekend trips to cities would be possible anytime.
WE WOULD LOVE TO DO A LONG-TERM EXCHANGE ALSO, MAYBE A YEAR IN FRANCE???!!!


Details of our home:
Type: House.
Sleeps: 7.
Bedrooms: 5.
Bathrooms: 2.
Swimming Pool. Countryside. No neighbours.

Air conditioning: Yes.

Close

Our Neighbourhood

From our house we can only see one other house, and that is 300 m metres away! All our neighbours are very friendly and helpful. You are bound to meet someone when out exploring the quiet country lanes, by foot, bike or horse: we do all of these. An hour up the hill will take you to a planted forest with lovely views of a lake.

More about the neighbourhood

A 5-minute drive or a 15-minute bike ride will bring you to Lough Derg, the second-biggest lake in Ireland, 20 miles long, famous for fishing and water sports. There is also a water sports activity centre 15 minutes' drive away. A short 5-minute drive will bring you to lively town of Scarriff, where you will often find traditional live music. There are regular showings of art house films and a monthly SAMS (sharing music and song session). Also a monthly world dance night, which is great fun! In August there is a harbour festival in Scarriff, and a traditional music festival in nearby Feakle village. A 5-minute drive or 20-minute bike ride will bring you to Raheen Woods, with many lovely walks in some very old woodland: one tree, the Brian Boru oak, is said to be the oldest in Ireland. Killaloe is 20 minutes' drive away: it is a very picturesque town, with a river running through it. Sit in Molly's and eat a famous pizza whilst watching the view of river and lake, and the sunset over the hills. On a Sunday you will find a market here, selling wonderful local produce. Beautiful Atlantic beaches 1 hour's drive away, and the Burren, with spectacular scenery, 1½ hours away.

Close

About Us

We, Dave and Erica, are in our thirties and have lived in Ireland for 10 years. We are originally from the UK, Dave from Newcastle, and Erica from Birmingham. We lived in Lancaster, near the Lake District, for 8 years, where Erica completed a degree in French Studies and Dave a degree in Biological Science.

More about us

We moved to Ireland to send our children to the local Steiner school and renovate/rebuild a cottage, which involved spending 3 years in a caravan with small children! Then we bought our land and designed our house and had this one built by others! We are planning another eco house on one of our fields, then we may stop building! Dave is an environmental consultant who enjoys sheep farming, snorkeling, kayaking, cycling, gardening, singing and playing football. Erica loves horse riding on her horse Chelsea, swimming in the sea and travelling! Eva is 15 and loves drama and cooking. Lily is 13 and likes hip hop dancing and swimming. Ishka is 9 and loves knitting and playing with her animals. We did our first home exchanges in the summer of 2007 - we spent five weeks in France in two houses and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We have done several swaps since. We are keen to visit anywhere in the world - surprise us!

Close

Reviews

No feedback for this property has been given

Details

Property Rural Farm House
Sleeps 7 (5 Bedrooms)
Bathrooms 2
Airport Shannon (30 km)
Conditions

When & Where

Dates not specified

Amenities

Disabled accessCar
Swing setCanoe / kayak
ComputerBicycles (1)

View full list

About Us

Travellers5 (2 Adults, 3 Children)
Languages French / English
OccupationHomeworker / Environmental consultant
Member since23-11-2008
Exchange
Featured City
Rental
Location of the property i.e. distance from central position, attractions and shops; Considering the cleanliness and safety of the surrounding streets; Includes the settings and views.
Considering the décor and furnishings throughout the home
Balconies, terraces, garden. Considering the size, availability of garden furniture or the type of garden (parkland or flowerbed). Communal facilities not included here.
Reasonable consideration of the tranquillity. All possible noise disturbances will be mentioned in the description (motorway, main road, railway line and so on)
No smoking allowed
No pets allowed
No young children allowed
Only experienced exchangers
Kosher only
Experienced swapper
Based on feedback, Members earn Geenees for being good exchangers. One Geenee is very good. Three is excellent.
Our Neighbourhood
Long weekends considered
Open to Offers
Golf
Skiing
Beach
Print this page
Reference 116071