XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Australia / Sydney / Eastern Suburbs / Bondi

Between City And Surf

Our Home

BETWEEN THE CITY AND SURF

DETACHED house with garden, in Sydney's upmarket waterside eastern suburbs, near to shops and bus, rail and ferry. Looking for swaps in 2017-18 in Europe.

More about this property

The house is in Queens Park/Bondi Junction, in Sydney's Eastern suburbs, 1-2 km from famous Bondi and other ocean and harbour beaches, 3 km/13 minutes/4 underground stops from central Sydney, or a short ferry ride to Circular Quay, the Bridge and Opera House; Also easy within walking distance of the stunning Centennial Park, and close to a major shopping complex. It's a walkers' paradise too.

The house, in Bourke Street, is two-storey, three-bedroom house with security grilles. In front, a small walled garden with frangipani tree. Hallway leads to two double bedrooms and a lounge with shutters, itself leading into a separate dining room with a Juliet balcony, and a galley kitchen of recycled timber, and a bathroom with bathtub. Through kitchen you reach a spacious deck with sun awning and BBQ looking down on the small back garden. From the dining room you descend to the bottom level (the house is built on a slope), which has a large lounge with TV (84 cm LCD), with French doors across its entire width, opening on to subtropical garden. Also downstairs is a third double bedroom and bathroom/laundry with walk-in shower.

Other Information: A 2010 Toyota Corolla with only 28,000 kms on clock can be included in the swap.

Close

Our Neighbourhood GolfBeach

The house is near to scores of beaches, both harbour (calm) and ocean (surf), and you can catch a tan even in winter! The nearest is fashionable Tamarama (about 2 km away), which has a nice cafe. You can walk to it in 20 minutes, but it is best to drive and park.

More about the neighbourhood

The famous Bondi beach is 3 km away; crowded in summer but wonderful for people-watching and strolling along the one-kilometre promenade. My car gives you FREE parking at Bondi.

Bondi is a happening place, but if your preference is for something quieter, there is the protected Clovelly Beach, situated in a narrow inlet, 10 minutes' drive away. It has a free parking and free swimming pool and a concrete concourse: You can snorkel and see colourful fish in its crystal waters. It's my favourite!

From Clovelly, I regularly take a 5-km walk along the coastal cliffs to Bondi. Or you can go the other way from Clovelly along a path hugging the shoreline to Coogee beach (4 km away).

Then there are the harbour beaches: Lady Jane (nudist) and trendy Camp Cove in Watson's Bay.

There is also a harbour-side walk called the Hermitage Walk that takes you past beautiful, never-crowded little beaches such as Milk Beach and Queens. The walk, during which the bridge and Opera House are always in sight, leads to Neilson Park, a popular weekend beach for picnics under the shady trees.

Other attractions within walking distance are the beautiful Centennial Park, with its palm trees, subtropical flowers and plants, black swans, cockatoos and ibis. It is 4 km to walk the circuit of the park (just over half an hour). There's also nearby Queens Park but this is mostly playing fields and dog-walking territory. Fox film studios are nearby, and you can park there free for two hours. On Wednesdays a boutique growers' market is held. Also within walking distance is the famous Sydney Cricket Ground, other sports stadiums, and the Royal Randwick Racecourse. For golfers there is a choice of several courses, situated on spectacular coastal cliff sites.

The house is only 7-10 minutes' walk from the Bondi Junction shopping complex, with its station and bus terminal. It takes about 10-12 minutes to get to central Sydney by train, perhaps 20-25 minutes by the frequent buses. But for those with time, it's great to drive to Rose Bay (12 minutes) and catch the harbour ferry into Circular Quay, the ferry terminus in the city. It sails past all the famous landmarks of the harbour and comes in between the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. It's a 20-minute cruise really.

Otherwise you can walk into the city through a park and along trendy Oxford Street, Paddington, full of boutique shops - and catch the flea market in the church grounds on Saturdays. If you like music, try a night at the opera, or a symphony concert, or a top show.

Close

About Us

I am a retired journalist, a widower, fit, in my sixties. My late wife and I enjoyed 14 home swaps starting in 2004 and I am now looking for more, preferably in Europe between April September 2016. I would be joined by various friends on visits or family. I was a journalist with the Sydney Morning Herald.

More about us

My preference is northern hemisphere summer (May to August): France, UK, Italy, Greece, Spain or anywhere tempting in Europe. Also exchanges in Australia anytime. The exchange does not have to be simultaneous.

Close

Reviews

No feedback for this property has been given

Details

Property Suburban House
Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms)
Bathrooms 2
Airport Sydney (7 km)
Conditions

When & Where

Dates not specified

Amenities

CarTV (Terrestrial)
DishwasherDVD
VCR (PAL)Fans

View full list

About Us

Travellers2
Languages English / French
OccupationRetired
Member since12-11-2008
Exchange
Featured City
Rental
Location of the property i.e. distance from central position, attractions and shops; Considering the cleanliness and safety of the surrounding streets; Includes the settings and views.
Considering the décor and furnishings throughout the home
Balconies, terraces, garden. Considering the size, availability of garden furniture or the type of garden (parkland or flowerbed). Communal facilities not included here.
Reasonable consideration of the tranquillity. All possible noise disturbances will be mentioned in the description (motorway, main road, railway line and so on)
No smoking allowed
No pets allowed
No young children allowed
Only experienced exchangers
Kosher only
Experienced swapper
Based on feedback, Members earn Geenees for being good exchangers. One Geenee is very good. Three is excellent.
Our Neighbourhood
Long weekends considered
Open to Offers
Golf
Skiing
Beach
Print this page
Reference 116004