XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Australia / New South Wales / Sydney

Character Terrace In Sydney

Our Home

We are currently looking for can exchange to central London (Zones 1 or 2 would be ideal) from early Apri to May 12th 2017.

Home is an 1895 terraced cottage, with high ceilings and polished floorboards throughout, in Sydney's Eastern Suburbs, halfway between the city and the beaches.

More about this property

We can offer a very clean, comfortable, cosy and welcoming family-friendly home,

Build on a slope, the house has level access from the street to the ground floor. On this level there is a sitting room, with a single sofa bed, computer etc, Foxtel tv, and a gas fireplace.

Along the hall is the family bathroom (with bathtub) and small bedroom with two bunk beds, then the cottage-style kitchen, in the middle of the house. Through the kitchen is the family room/dining, which leads to the deck overlooking the courtyard downstairs.

The main bedroom, with limited views of the city, is upstairs and has an en-suite shower room. Just a note of caution, because the bedrooms here are on different levels, if you have very young children you may feel the need to have them sleep upstairs with you, in a travelcot or mattress on the floor (plenty of room).

Downstairs, at courtyard level, is our basement studio flat which has independent access via the garage. (It will be occupied by a lady doctor working at the local hospital during the week. She only occupies the studio for three or four weeknights and goes home to her young family in Newcastle at weekends).

Our home has rear lane access through the garage.

At this stage we are looking for NSW school holiday swaps where we could take our two young grandchildren.

Also, we would like to visit Hobart and northern Tasmania, ideally over Christmas/New Year 2014/15.

Close

Our Neighbourhood Beach

Situated just 3kms/4 metro stops from Sydney's CBD , Queens Park is an up market suburb of family homes. Queens Park itself is just down the road, while the beautiful Centennial Park is 15-20 very pleasant minutes walk away. We have two bikes you might like to ride around the park.

More about the neighbourhood

There are shops galore within five minutes walk - we hardly use the car here - including a huge, prestigious shopping mall, and all the general facilities and conveniences you might hope to find. Less than ten minutes walk away is Bondi Junction train station where you will also find buses to take you to the city or Circular Quay - 20 mins ride away. Within thirty minutes walking distance are the beaches of Bondi, Bronte and Tamarama, with buses to bring you home if you don't fancy the stroll back! Our favourite morning is a walk down to Bronte, take-away coffee on the prom, a walk along the world-renowned cliff top to Bondi, lunch at Icebergs Swimming club (just sign yourself in as visitors) then stroll home along Bondi Road. Ok, sometimes we jump on a bus home, if it's a very hot day!

Close

About Us

We are a retired air traffic controller and retired teacher, who have exchanged our previous homes many times over the last 30 years, since our children were small. They have all been fantastic exchanges and we've met wonderful people on the way, many of whom have become good friends.

More about us

We love to walk, play bridge, read, I paint, and Mac is a great armchair sportsman, with a particular interest in football.
Our daughter now lives in Stoke Newington, hence wanting an exchange reasonably close by.

Close

Reviews

No feedback for this property has been given

Details

Property Urban House
Sleeps 5 (3 Bedrooms)
Bathrooms 2 (1 En-Suite)
Airport Sydney (15 km)
Conditions

When & Where

Dates not specified

Amenities

CarComputer
Bicycles (2)Fireplace
TV (Satellite)Dishwasher

View full list

About Us

Travellers8
Languages English
OccupationRetired - air traffic controller/teacher.
Member since07-02-2008
Exchange
Featured City
Rental
Location of the property i.e. distance from central position, attractions and shops; Considering the cleanliness and safety of the surrounding streets; Includes the settings and views.
Considering the décor and furnishings throughout the home
Balconies, terraces, garden. Considering the size, availability of garden furniture or the type of garden (parkland or flowerbed). Communal facilities not included here.
Reasonable consideration of the tranquillity. All possible noise disturbances will be mentioned in the description (motorway, main road, railway line and so on)
No smoking allowed
No pets allowed
No young children allowed
Only experienced exchangers
Kosher only
Experienced swapper
Based on feedback, Members earn Geenees for being good exchangers. One Geenee is very good. Three is excellent.
Our Neighbourhood
Long weekends considered
Open to Offers
Golf
Skiing
Beach
Print this page
Reference 110157